You can improve the way your brain works
Australia is losing in the Pacific. Here’s why.

7 PNG provinces get new electorates

| Twitter @LepaniThierry | Edited for publication

PORT MORESBY – The Papua New Guinea parliament has approved the creation of seven new electorates by splitting seven existing ones in time for the elections.

This came after a majority endorsement of the Electoral Boundaries Commission Report.

The seven new electorates are:

- Delta-Fly (Western)

- Hiri-Koiari (Central)

- Popondetta (Oro)

- Nakanai (West New Britain)

-Wau-Waria (Morobe)

- Komo-Hulia (Hela)

- Porgera Paiela (Enga)

They will be included in the national elections next month.

A electorates
Graphic by The National

Prime Minister James Marape said six more electorates, including a new Motu-Koita seat, will be introduced for the 2027 elections.

Due to constitutional limitations on the creation of new electorates, only 13 were allowed to be considered.

The considerations were done based on their population and size.


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)